The coronavirus pandemic has made it a little harder for some people to renew their driver`s licenses. For this reason, Hawaii has extended the expiration dates of driver`s licenses and state ID cards that were scheduled to expire between March 16, 2020 and February 2021 until February 14, 2021. This should save drivers a little more time, as extensions are only available by appointment. NY – The Seat Belt Act of 2020 helped move New York from “yellow” to “green” in the road safety report. Following the passage of Senate Bill 4336/Assembly Bill 6163 in 2020, New York City received “green,” the highest rating, in the 18th annual report of the state`s Road Safety Laws Roadmap, which Advocates for Highway and Auto Safety released this month. The law extends the requirement for all vehicle occupants 16 years of age and older to wear a seat belt from the exclusive passenger app to all passengers. Supporters said the need for the law was evident in an increase in pedestrian deaths in the state from 179 deaths in 2020 to 223 in 2021 and an increase in cyclist deaths from 18 to 23, according to state police statistics. The state recorded the highest number of road deaths in 30 years in 2021. Much has changed and continues to do so, but ignorance of the rules of conduct is no excuse for breaking the law. Whether you agree with them or not, here are some driving laws that were introduced in the United States in 2020. Read on to stay ahead of the curve.
States have enacted new driving laws to keep drivers safe on the road. As most U.S. drivers know, traffic rules vary greatly from state to state, as do the consequences of a violation. Because these laws change frequently, it`s important to stay on top of changes, such as California`s new driving laws that will soon go into effect. While there are ways to reduce or eliminate traffic fees, the easiest way is to avoid them in the first place! In this article, you`ll learn what you need to know about the new traffic rules in California. The best way to do this is to couple an overtaking law with a law that allows drivers to pass in a no-pass zone when it`s safe to give cyclists and others a wide berth, he said. This has happened in several states, he said. Finally, the DMV would like to remind you once again of the next federal effective date for REAL ID: October 1, 2020. Then, the Department of Homeland Security requires a valid passport or other state-approved document, such as a REAL ID driver`s license or ID card, for people to board flights in the United States and access secure federal facilities such as federal courts and military bases. Don`t wait until the last minute! We`ve been hearing about REAL ID for several years: stricter requirements and proof for government-issued ID required for domestic flights. As of October 2020, states were required to issue REAL ID-compliant driver`s licenses, and in October 2021, travelers will need a REAL ID for domestic flights.
For example, if you live in Rhode Island and don`t see a gold star on your driver`s license or ID card, you`ll need to go to a local DMV to update your ID to be REAL ID compliant. Another distracted driving bill this session, SB-1602, would prohibit the use of devices when drivers stop at traffic lights or stop signs. Drivers who only look at their phones during the driving break can get distracted for a few seconds as they continue on their way, she said. Arizona has taken a tougher stance on multitasking drivers by passing a new distracted driving law. Starting in early 2021, Arizona police officers will be able to arrest any driver holding an electronic device, even if their driving does not appear to be impaired. NJ Transit has trained bus drivers and provided information on new law enforcement training, and law enforcement training has also begun, she said. The Idaho State Police will issue warnings until Dec. 31 and will work to educate drivers about the new law. Citations will be published from 1. January 2021. This is a good courtesy of the Midwest, they give you a 5-month stamp before dropping the hammer.
Remember, the policeman is not there to be your friend. He or she is there to enforce the laws. Never make a self-incriminating statement. These are often in the form of answers to the question, “Do you know why I arrested you?” You need to be respectful, but don`t give the officer evidence of crimes they may not have seen. On July 1, 2020, Indiana law enforcement enacted a new distracted driving law nationwide. The law prohibits the driver of a motor vehicle from holding or using a mobile phone, personal digital assistant, pager or any other electronic device while driving. Wait, pager? Who else uses a pager? Should we also create a law banning the use of typewriters while driving? Starting January 15, a 44-day warning period will begin for those driving between 6 and 10 miles per hour over the speed limit. These drivers receive a warning by mail. The state has also introduced crime reform to reduce the amount of money people can receive from insurance companies and businesses after a car accident. The reform will increase the number of jury trials for personal injury prosecutions, set limits on medical expenses, and change the types of evidence that can be used in a trial.
Oregon has changed its requirements for applying for a driver`s license. Starting at 1. As of January 2021, Oregon drivers will no longer need to provide proof of legal presence in the U.S. to obtain an Oregon driver`s license or ID card. However, the rest of the requirements still apply: the standard license and state ID card still require proof of name, identity, and official residence. FL – Traffic laws were enforced near the UF campus to increase safety after recent deaths. Following the recent deaths of two University of Florida students in crashes on University Avenue on campus, the Gainesville Police Department deployed officers on motorcycles and in cars to conduct a traffic surveillance operation on University Avenue. Several other recent accidents elsewhere in Gainesville have killed or injured pedestrians and cyclists. Idaho is another state that cracks down on the use of electronic devices. Starting January 1, 2021, drivers will be required to store their devices while driving, even if they are stopped at a red light or stop sign.
The new year is fast approaching, meaning a number of new laws will go into effect in California on January 1. Every year at this time, On the Road shares with its readers information about new driving-related laws or changes to driving and traffic laws that are already in effect. The Department of Motor Vehicles, the California Highway Patrol, and the Automobile Club of Southern California have shared information about the new laws so we can help you stay informed. Here is an overview. California drivers have faced new traffic laws this year that will impact roads. The state`s Clean Air Vehicle sticker program also has some changes. The Assembly`s Bill 544, passed in 2017, created a new program that allows low- and zero-emission vehicles to use high-occupancy or diamond-stained vehicles for a period of four years, regardless of the number of people in the vehicle. In 2020, the DMV will issue orange stickers giving access to HOV tracks until January 1, 2024.
In addition, Californians whose income is less than or equal to 80% of medan income statewide can get a new orange sticker after buying a used car that previously had a green or white sticker of clean air, which has now expired. Effective January 1, 2021, any California that rescues an unsupervised child under the age of six from a vehicle will be exempt from civil or criminal liability. This applies to situations where the child is at risk of extreme heat or cold or any other hazard. Road safety is also at the forefront of California`s new driving laws for 2021. “Move, slow down” now also applies to local roads. And as of July 1, 2021, a second hands-free offense for talking or texting while driving within 36 months of a first offense will be considered a follow-up offense. Seat belts, for example, save thousands of lives every year.